Is Sugar Gluten-Free? Are Artificial Sweeteners Gluten-Free?

arrant sugar is gluten-free. Most sugar comes either from sugar beets or from carbohydrate cane. tied though boodle cane is a denounce plant and therefore a distant relative to the gluten grains pale yellow, barley, and rye, it does not contain the harmful gluten protein .

Sugar beets are not closely related to gluten grains. consequently, pure carbohydrate made from boodle cane or sugar beets wo n’t cause you to react if you ‘re following the gluten-free diet. In addition, most artificial sweeteners are considered gluten-free .

Facts You Need to Know

You ‘ll likely see a variety of different sugar brands in the baking aisle. however, the huge majority of sugar sold in the U.S. is produced by one of merely two companies—the United States Sugar Corp. and ASR Group, once american english Sugar Refining, Inc .

ASR Group manufacturers Domino ‘s Sugar and Florida Crystals ( an organic and natural boodle brand ), while U.S. Sugar makes sugar for dozens of store brands, including IGA and Food Lion, and supplies carbohydrate products to major food product manufacturers, such as Kraft Foods and General Mills .

Both ASR Group and U.S. Sugar Corp. run “ sugar-only ” mills and refineries, drastically reducing the chances of any gluten cross-contamination at the factory grade ( the type that could occur if a factory milled both sugar and wheat flour products ). For artificial sweeteners, Equal, Sugar Twin, and Sweet’N Low are considered gluten-free, according to their manufacturers .

Why Sugar Might not Be Gluten-Free

The fact that sugar is naturally gluten-free does n’t mean you can let down your guard when it comes to sugar if you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. There are instances when sugar can be baffling .

Most of the problems with sugar on the gluten-free diet bow from cross-contamination, either at the grocery store shop or at base in a shared kitchen. Larger grocery stores frequently stock the sugar in a different part of the baking aisle than the flour. This decision makes sense because, otherwise, the similar-looking packages would be easy to mix up .

But some smaller shops store boodle and flour side-by-side—and stray airborne flour from major box leaks or spills easily can land on your sugar software, potentially cross-contaminating you when you handle the package or pour the carbohydrate. This may seem a bite paranoid, but it is potential to get gluten that way, thus be warned .

To avoid the problem, only buy sugar in a large store where it ‘s kept far from the flour. Or, make certain to wipe down the package cautiously before handling it or opening it ( fictile carbohydrate packages are superior to composition in this regard ) .

It ‘s besides quite possible to get brainsick from plain sugar if it ‘s been used previously for baking gluten-containing items—this happens after person sticks a flour-coated spoon in the sugar bag. There ‘s no direction to detect this type of cross-contamination ahead .

To guard against it in a shared kitchen, get your own unopened bulge of safe sugar, and prominently label it “ gluten-free. ” besides, a battalion of products contain sugar, and many of those are not gluten-free. Always make certain to double-check food labels for gluten-containing ingredients .


When purchasing sugar, you may want to consider buying a software that carries a “ gluten-free ” label. here are some examples .

  • Domino’s and Florida Crystals: This brand specifically labels some products (usually specialty organic products) gluten-free.
  • Wholesome Sweeteners: This manufacturer states that its sugar products are “processed and packaged in a gluten-free environment.”
  • Sugar in the Raw: This company states on its FAQs page that its sugar “contains no gluten, nor does it come into contact with glutinous products such as wheat during its manufacture.”

interim, avoid Hain Pure Foods ‘ sugars. A Hain customer overhaul representative said the company could not guarantee that the products were gluten-free due to gluten cross-contamination .

There are early forms of sugar and it ‘s potential to find handle carbohydrate ( made from palm trees ) and coconut sugar ( made specifically from coconut decoration trees ), although these are far less common and are considered peculiarity items .

Some of these smaller specialization products are labeled “ gluten-free, ” and those should be safe. differently, you should contact the manufacturer to be certain.

Brown Sugar

Brown sugar is besides gluten-free. It is made by taking plain white sugar and mixing it with molasses, which is gluten-free. Molasses is made either from sugar beets or sugarcane, much the lapp as crystallized carbohydrate .

Light brown sugar uses less molasses, while dark brown sugar uses more molasses to make the concluding product. When purchasing gluten-free brown carbohydrate, follow the lapp guidelines as you would when purchasing regular sugar.

It ‘s easily to make your own gluten-free brown sugar, besides. Simply mix one cup of white boodle with one tablespoon of molasses ( for luminosity brown sugar ) or two tablespoons of molasses ( for blue brown sugar ). Grandma ‘s Molasses is one recommend gluten-free molasses mark .

Brown sugar
Verywell / Alexandra Shytsman

artificial Sweeteners

Three out of four of the most normally available artificial sweeteners department of state that their products are gluten-free :

  • Equal: This product includes four different sweetener products including Equal Original (blue packets) made from aspartame and acesulfame potassium; Equal sucralose; Equal saccharin; and Equal Next, made from aspartame and sodium saccharin. All are considered gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease, according to the company. All Equal packets contain dextrose with maltodextrin as what’s called a “bulking agent,” or an additive to make the product seem more substantial (and more like sugar).
  • Sugar Twin: Manufactured by B&G Foods, Inc., this product is made from saccharin, with added dextrose to make it appear more like sugar. According to the company, Sugar Twin products are gluten-free and are produced in gluten-free facilities.
  • Sweet’N Low: The pink packets on the table at nearly every restaurant, is a saccharin-based artificial sweetener. According to its manufacturer, Sweet’N Low does not contain any gluten, nor is it at risk for gluten cross-contamination during processing.

The fourth coarse artificial sweetening brand, Splenda, comes in chicken packets and is made from sucralose. According to the company, Splenda and Splenda brand bait products do not contain any ingredients derived from wheat, barley, rye or oats, although it states they “ do not test our finished products for the presence of gluten. ”

artificial sweeteners may pose a trouble for a different argue. They are considered to be one of the top triggers for excitable intestine syndrome, or IBS. then while a product may be gluten-free, it may cause your symptoms that seem evocative of a glutening. That ‘s barely something you should keep in judgment if you try an artificial bait and react ill to it .

sugar Substitutes

Some people prefer to avoid artificial sweeteners, and for them, stevia is a sugar-free enhancement option .

Stevia, besides known by its scientific name Stevia rebaudiana, is a south american herb that ‘s been used for centuries as a natural bait. It ‘s 25 to 30 times ampere fresh as natural carbohydrate ( sol not vitamin a potent as the artificial sweeteners ), and it contains zero calories, zero carbs, and has a glycemic exponent of zero. Gluten-free products made with stevia include :

  • Stevia in the Raw: This brand of stevia comes in packets, tablets, and larger quantities for baking and home use. It’s considered gluten-free and the company states it “contains no gluten nor does it come into contact with glutinous products, such as wheat, during its manufacture.” Some versions of Stevia in the Raw include dextrose and maltodextrin, both derived from corn, according to the company.
  • Sweet Leaf: Sweet Leaf makes a wide variety of products, from sweet liquid drops to crystallized powders that more closely resemble sugar (for use in baking). According to the company, Sweet Leaf is gluten-free. It’s also offered in an organic version. Sweet Leaf stevia contains inulin, a vegetable fiber that is gluten-free, but which can be a trigger for people who react to FODMAP foods (many people with IBS follow a low-FODMAP diet). 
  • Truvia: This stevia-based sweetener comes in packets, a spoonable white sugar-like version, a brown sugar version, and a version designed for baking. None contain any gluten, according to the company. The products contain erythritol, which is a form of sugar alcohol (with no calories). Although a few people report getting IBS-type symptoms from erythritol,  most say it’s fine if you’re following a low-FODMAP diet.

A Word From Verywell

Some people with coeliac disease or gluten sensitivity report problems consuming boodle or artificial sweeteners evening when they ‘ve taken manage to choose brands and products that are considered gluten-free. In these cases, it ‘s not clear why they seem to be reacting, although in the subject of artificial sweeteners, they may be experiencing irritable intestine symptoms .

still, regardless of the potential reasons, if you feel as if you ‘re reacting to plain sugar or to artificial sweeteners, you might try switching to one of the gluten-free organic brands .

You besides could try one of the natural boodle substitutes listed above—you may find you tolerate that better. Always make certain to keep sugar and boodle substitute packages that are dedicated “ gluten-free ” separate from other ingredients in a kitchen shared with people who eat gluten .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *